The good and bad side of KPOP addiction for me

The good side of it:
I am learning Korean language because of KPOP. Im learning Mandarin too! I was lame before when it comes to fashion, i was like a nerd! But I improved the way I dress, influenced by boy bands Super Junior & BIGBANG. And a girl band which is 2NE1. Yea, Im a girl and I dont overdo clothes, I still keep it simple. My friends like the way I dress now. My make up is just for my lips because they are pale. I use concealer too to hide some blemishes. I was careless before, SUPER careless about how I look but now I became a little conscious. I appreciate music a lot more than before. I also listen to Japanese, Chinese and Taiwanese songs which is influenced again by my kpop biases. I am always gaining new friends, which are kpop fanatics too. Im helping my biases when Im buying their newly released albums, I feel great when Im doing that!๐Ÿ˜€

The bad side of it:
I dont talk to most of my real life friends anymore because I feel like im not myself when Im talking to them. They are annoyed because they dont like KPOP. They like to drink, I think it’s better to be addicted to KPOP than being addicted to alcohol and cigarettes. My grades started to fall, sometimes I fail exams coz Im spending more time on watching music videos than studying. I dont even go to school sometimes or sometimes I cut classes. I spend more time at home than hanging out with my bestfriends. Every fangirl spends money on albums, merchandise and etc, sometimes Im broke because of those things. Im buying things that I dont need or even use which leads to wasting my money. Oh I wont forget this, I will get really really hurt when my bias has a girlfriend already (But I cant do anything about it, I just have to accept it when that happens).

Lesson learned: I need to balance my life, my time (for studying and fangirling) and my social life coz im spending time with my kpop friends more than my real friends and they are still mad at me. I hope I could fix everything when I get back to school for the first semester. If you’re addicted to something, you just have to learn how to control yourself.

15 thoughts on “The good and bad side of KPOP addiction for me

  1. Me either. We had the same situation. But it’s really addicting… So we had nothing to do with that.๐Ÿ˜„

  2. ohhh me too ahhaahhaah i just notice now that i only have ELF as a friend and i already lost my college frends and best friend but 1 thing that i like is i never regretted being like this because of kpop i recieve so much love know who’s always by your side ^^

  3. I have the same situation just like what you have . It is so hard to control when you start loving your biases. I can’t help my self from getting so addicted from Korean Groups,songs,culturefood even their fashion.

    • me too! although im not addicted to kpop anymore, I got addicted to their makeup and skincare. I also adapted their fashion as well which is good since we are making ourselves look good.๐Ÿ™‚

    • how is your kpop addiction? I can control my addiction to kpop now because I list down all my priorities. I have to accomplish all those things then just reward myself during weekends by watching kpop vids. I always think about the pros and cons if I will do something.๐Ÿ™‚ I can only use internet on weekends now.

  4. I mean, me too. For my case, it’s the new rookie, VIXX, that I’m addicted to. They’re so addictive, like, really addictive. I once try to stop to be addictive to KPOP, I deleted tons of their variety shows and music videos that I downloaded but guess what? I redownload all of that stuff again. God, I really wanna stop this kpop addictive since I think I’m crazy for being over-worried and over-jealous when thinking that time when they finally got themselves youja-chingu๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  5. I was addicted to Kpop for a few years before my college life got busier,so busy until I had to give up most of my time on Kpop.However,I never stop listening to Kpop,I wasn’t addicted to it but I still love Kpop.Until I noticed EXO,I became addicted to Kpop all over again,this time it isn’t as bad as the previous one but it’s taking a lot of my time.I don’t feel like going out or doing other things except to be in front of my laptop watching all the videos.I really have to balance my time

    • I feel you. Im not that addicted to kpop anymore but when my favorite groups have comebacks, i start to get addicted again. I can control myself now not to spend much on merchandise.๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. This is so true accept its difficult for me to find more kpop friends, unfortunately so at least you have that. Also I’m trying to teach myself korean so do you have any pointers you could give me?

    • Hi. Iโ€™ve subscribed to talktomeinkorean on youtube. And you can also visit their website talktomeinkorean.com. They give lessons about hangul & how to pronounce/say the words. They have downloadable audio & pdf files too.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

