PanOxyl 4% Benzoyl Peroxide Cream review

Hello again! I just got home from school. Gosh I hate my 6 to 9PM class. -____- I’m going to post for 3 straight days. Some of you may find it annoying. I have to do it because I won’t be able to post anything for the next 2 weeks. I have to finish our group and individual reports.😦 It’s gonna be our midterm exams as well at the end of January. Woah, it’s really a stressful school year for me though I’m just a second year college student. @____@

In my previous posts and including this one, they’re all about topical acne treatments~

I really wanted to buy Panoxyl’s Acne Gel 10% again because it’s so effective for drying up pimples. I searched at different Mercury Drug Store branches but I couldn’t find any. So I wrote of PanOxyl’s facebook wall and asked where could I find it?

Panoxyl messaged me. Here’s their reply:

Hello Diana, the gel format has been discontinued as a result of a global corporate decision to focus on PanOxyl Cream. PanOxyl Cream also contains benzoyl peroxide (in 4% concentration) as its active ingredient like the gels. This product will be available very soon in leading drugstores near you.

I was really sad that it’s discontinued! But, it won’t hurt to try the new one.🙂

PanOxyl 4% Benzoyl Peroxide Cream review

The packaging isn’t the same with the gels. It’s in a plastic tube. It comes in one size only. I bought it around PHP230. The price is still expensive for me.😛

I’m used to their 10% acne gel. I thought 4% concentration wasn’t enough. I didn’t feel any stinging sensation when I applied it. Yaaay for that! Since the it’s in a plastic tube, it’s easier for the product to come out and you can control how much cream you want to use. It’s not that strong so it doesn’t cause darker spots…. just redness and lighter spots. It dries up small pimples effectively like 3 to 4 days.🙂 The downside of this is it’s slow in drying cystic pimples.

157 thoughts on “PanOxyl 4% Benzoyl Peroxide Cream review

        • Hi. Kapag uncontrollable na pimples ko nagpupunta ko sa dermatologist ko for pimple injections & medicines. Avoid oily foods, dairy products like milk & cheese, sweets & nuts. Tignan mo rin kung stressed ka ba or irregular ang digestion mo. These things can aggravate pimples kasi.🙂

        • san po location nyo … kase nawawala tpos magkakaron po ulit gniamit ko na po ung panoxyl soap peo ala pdn help nmn po gus2 ko na mabalik ung face q dati thanks

  1. Hi! You gained a new follower🙂 I also have pimples and I’m interested in your posts🙂 I’m planning to try this panoxyl cream if it’s effective for me🙂 have you tried celeteque’s line for acne? what other products do you use for your pimples?🙂 thanks!

    • I tried Celeteque’s Spot Corrector Gel. It didn’t work for me.😦 I really like Dermstrata’s Erythromycin Solution. I’ve tried different products and treatments. They’re on my homepage.🙂

    • evenly spread it on the affected areas. siguro pea size or basta dapat naabsorb ng skin & wag lang masyadong marami. effective to sakin. hindi rin gaanong harsh kagaya ng 10% sabi ng dermatologists. take note benzoyl peroxide can cause dark spots and flaking skin.

      • Triny ko kasi pahiran din yung may mga dark spots ko, sa kabilang pisngi ko. And then now, nag light na sya at halos malapit ng mawala. Ano maiadvice mo na pwede pampatangal pa ng dark spots?

        • madaming pang tanggal ng dark spots: creams and serum na may Vitamin C or Arbutin. Meron akong na-try na dark spot corrector ng Garnier effective sya sa hindi malalim ns spots. Pwede rin mag skin peel search mo dito sa blog ko yung Shark Oil or if you have acne prone skin you can consult a dermatologist about Glycolic and Salicylic Peels🙂

    • Nope. This is only for treating acne. Acne scars can be improved using chemical peels, dermabrasion, TCA cross, fractional laser and microneedling depending on how deep your scars are🙂

  2. Hey, great review.. I actually wanted to try PanOxyl but I prefer it in gel form. I think I might have to try other products instead. I was wondering, is Benzac available here locally?

    Looking forward for your response, Thank you!!

  3. hello. i need help po..kc napafacial po aq sa let’s face it ..then after 1 month tinubuan ako ng mga pimples..anu po product n mrerecommend nyo sken? salamat po…

    • hi it’s better to stick to a regimen. Any foam cleanser, toner and moisturizer with Tea Tree and Salicylic Acid might help. Yun kasi nakatulong sakin. They can prevent breakouts din. Try mo din yung snail essence or cream, they’re good in healing pimples, preventing pimples and healing scars. Search mo dito sa blog ko may mga review din ako nun.😉

  4. hi, thanks for the review, ask ko lang, diba ung cream eh for those who have dry skin? paano pag oily face? sayang kc phaseout na yung gel un kasi sana ang maganda,

    • medyo drying din ‘tong cream formula. Effective pa rin naman sakin kahit may oily skin ako.🙂 Pero mas mabilis pa rin maka-dry ng pimples yung gel type para sakin. Yun gel type din yung mas gusto ko yun nga lang wala na.😦

      • sayang nga eh, may iba pa nmn BP na gel pero ang mamahal, kya itong cream nlng binili ko, medjo mahal pero mukhang ok prin,
        i have mild acne problem, ska pimple marks and scars,
        kya ginagamitan q ng sebo de macho, iniiwasan ko ung part na may pimple ska ko nilalagyan ng panoxyl ung pimple spot😀
        i’ll give an update after 2-3weeks😀

      • huhuhu. same scenario. I LIKE THE GEL PANOXYL. can we just wrote a message for them na ibalik na yung gel. ;( but I haven’t tried the cream yet,.,is it effective?

        thank you.

        • The gel type absorbs better because of its thickness/consistency. The cream healed my pimples but not as fast as the gel type.. Maybe it’s because it only has one concentration. Unlike the gel type, customers can choose from 2%, 5% and 10% depending on the severity of acne. But the cream type is not that drying compared to the gel. @___@

  5. Hi! I would just like to ask.umm..which do you recommend more..this or the celeteque acne spot corrector gel? And also..where can I buy this panoxyl product? Because the drugstores in our town says that its not available anymore. Thank you and im hoping for a reply🙂

    • Hi there. The gel type already phased out. They replaced it with this cream type. I bought it at Mercury Drugstore. I’m currently using Celeteque Acne Spot Corrector Gel. You might feel tingling sensation. This cream doesn’t make me feel the tingling that much. Both are good products. Btw, they both have a con, they can cause red marks or dark spots depending on your skin sensitivity. Can’t say which one’s better.🙂

        • I’m not sure if there are ways to prevent dark spots. Kasi halos lahat ng gumamit ng gel or cream type na acne spot corrector nagkakaroon ng dark spots/red marks. Tinatanggal na lang nila yung dark spots kapag wala ng pimple through whitening creams or serum (mas effective), skin peels, scar ointments and etc.

    • There are a lot of brands out there. Salicylic Acid, Tea Tree and Benzoyl Peroxide are the main ingredients for anti-acne products. You can also try snail creams/essence/serum. It’s usually from Korean brands. It’s an all in one product: whitening, anti wrinkle and can treat pimples. You can search it on my blog.😉

      • hi, saan ba tayo makakabili nang mas mabisang panglunas nang pimples at acne marks?ano po bang mga cream yun? pwede ban yan sa mga lalaki?

        ano po ba ang brand namakakawala nang mga pimples at acne?

        • hi there. madami pong brand. The Body Shop, Panoxyl, Proactive, Celeteque… madami pa sa mga SM department store Watsons. Basta po may Tea Tree or Salicylic Acid. Depende rin po sa diet, kinakain at stress kung bakit nagkakapimple. Consult a dermatologist for acne management programs.:)

  6. badtrip nga i’m used to the panoxyl gel. when i asked my mom to buy me one i thought she made a mistake because she got the panoxyl cream. i miss the stinging sensation when i apply it to my zit.

  7. Hi, ^_^_^ I am Houri. i have pimples in my left cheeks. di pa po nawawala. i’m wearing a mask everytime I go out pra di makita pisngi ko lalo na sa school..😦😦😦 i couln’t find panOxyl here in our different drugstore.😦 if makakahanap po ako pwede po ba itong gamitin in daylight?

  8. hi .. ask ku lahn pu kung ilang days or weeks 2matagal ung isang tube ng PanOxyl ? I was trying to find lately ung gel type nla, peu phase out na pla .. I ask the Benzac AC which also contain benzoyl peroxide 275php for 15g. Magkno mu nbli ung PanOxyl cream and ilang grams ? Does it last for a month ??

  9. nkakainis! bkit ganon pra naman walang effect ang panoxyl cream >.< HELP naman po! ano pa po kya pwede kong gamitin? 1st time ko magka-PIMPLES NA SUNOD-SUNOD😥 tapos nkaka-dagdag stress pa ung mga marks, mas lalo tuloy dumadami tngnan T^T

    • hi, it’s better to consult a dermatologist about it. Dirt, the foods that you eat, hormonal imbalance, stress and digestion can be the cause of pimples. Or hindi mo pa nakikita yung skin care regimen na para sayo. Nung sunod sunod din ako nagkapimples, nagconsult ako sa dermatologist ng Flawless. I also had pimple injections and facials sa Flawless.🙂

  10. hi! i have pimple and acne problems, i already went to dermatologist, he gave a glycolic soap, clyndamicyn solution,acne lotion, sunblock gel, tretinoin cream, and arbutin cream.. i follow his intstruction, but seems it doesnt work😦 im thinking if stop using all my stuff and replace panoxyl instead..

    • Hi give the products some time to work. Maybe your skin is just adjusting. Follow your dermatologist because he knows what’s best for your skin. There’s no other quick solution aside from pimple injection. Benzoyl peroxide can cause dark spots so I always tell the readers to look for other options🙂

  11. ive been using it since july 25, kaya lng inip n akong gumaling😦 do u think injection wil help? btw i just had a chemical peel last wednesday, 4days after peeling new pimples coming out😦 oh dear😦 if u were 2 ask which will u preffered dermstrata or flawless? gus2 ko try magpaconsult s knila? thanks🙂

    • I had a bad experience at Dermstrata. Nagpafacial ako sa kanila kaso nagkaroon ako ng deep acne scars/pits.😦 sa Flawless ayos ang facial & free consultation sa doctor nila. 100 pesos per pimple yung injection. Pero mas madaming treatments sa Dermstrata.

  12. hi. nag consult na ako sa dermstrata. ang may ginawa sila sa face ko yung pricking. whiteheads lang naman daw akin pero ang dami nya sobra.ngayon konti na lang sya. binigyan din ako ng centella gel and the solution. pero patuloy pdin ang pagdami ng whiteheads. is it okay na gumamit ako nitong panoxyl?🙂 thanks

  13. ah so ok lang po ba un kahit mahigit isang linggo na siya ginagamit? d pa kc tanggal ung mga pimples eh halos i week ku na siyang inaapply sa face ku..

  14. hi mis Super diana.. may alam kabang pampatanggal din ng butas sa face? my konting butas kc sa left chik ko nakakahiya kasi eh…tenx wait ko po reply mo..

  15. hi mis Super diana.. may alam kabang pampatanggal din ng butas sa face? my konting butas kc sa left chik ko nakakahiya kasi eh…tenx wait ko po reply mo..

    Reply

  16. hi Diana! what percent of BP do you use? Based on the comments I think I should give it a try. I have a large pimple but i dont think it’s a pimple kasi super laki na niya. I tried to “pop” it pero walang lumalabas na something—eewwwiee—- yung puting laman nya. 10g na ba yung pinaka small size nya? Thanks

  17. Hi Diana, i had a same problem regarding pimples, acne and scars as well.. pwede ko bang gamitin ng sabay ung panoxyl cream and cetaphil cleanser? what’s your opinion about this? and recommendation na rin.. THANKS!🙂

    • hi, it’s better if you consult a dermatologist about it. Don’t prick or scratch it because it can cause dark spots or scars. I’ve tried to use organic tea tree oil which is available at The Body Shop and Healthy Options. It soothes itch, irritation and it helps to heal pimples, in my case.🙂

  18. Hi superdiana,
    I just want to ask, pwede ko ba pagsabayin panoxyl 4% wash at panoxyl 4%? Incase kc ganito mgiging regimine ko. I read kc sa post mo “Cleanser -> toner -> panoxyl cream”. So ano maisusugest mo na toner? I’ll wait for your reply. Thanks in advance!

  19. Hi! I have lots of blackheads and few pimples. I bought panoxyl cream but i havnt used it for now. Cause im confused. Do you think its ok to use Cetaphil bar as cleanser before applying the BP cream? Thanks!

  20. Hi. I have a mild case of back acne. Hindi ko siya pinapansin before pero ngayon kasi parang lumalala. You think na this cream will be effective for me? And do you think available pa tong cream na to sa market? Hehehe. Nakakahiya naman kasing pumunta sa watsons tapos phase out na pala to. Thanks!

    • Hi… The gel type of this is already phased out. But the cream type is still available at mercury drugs market market. You might want to try a body wash with tea tree. It’s available at The Body Shop. Snoe Beauty also has spray to treat back acne.

  21. Hi! Ask ko lang is it okay to use rosehip oil as scar remover when using panoxyl? Or is it okay if after i wash my face i will use whitening serum or garnier light complete cream under panoxyl? Because it’s been a month already since my face got pimples all over. Some of it are small and some are really big. I already tried different facial wash and cleansers/toners but most of them didn’t work, worse makes my face more prone to pimples and ending with many pimple marks and dark facial skin tone. Hope youcould help me. Thanks!!

    • hi… better use something to treat the pimples first then work on the dark spots and whitening after. Dont put other moisturizer on the affected areas aside from Panoxyl so the pimples will heal. But remember this, benzoyl peroxide causes dark/red spots so don’t put too much.

  22. Available pa rin pa po ba yung Panoxyl ngayon? Kasi nung tinanong ko sa Mercury Drugs nung mga bandang March wala na daw silang Panoxyl.

    • It depends on the product type. Benzoyl peroxide dries pimples faster than Salicylic Acid. Salicylic acid doesnt cause dark spots if applied correctly unlike benzoyl peroxide, no matter what you do, you’ll still get dark spots.

    • Hi. I havent checked if there are still available panoxyl cream. It’s hard to tell since Panoxyl Philippines’ fb fanpage is already deleted.😦 Panoxyl products are usually available at mercury drugs

  23. Hi, I’m actually looking for effective whitening cream that can lighter my acne marks at the same time. Any suggestion for this ?

    • Chemical peels will give fast results but it needs to be performed by dermatologists. Choose serums/essence instead of creams because they absorb faster. There are a lot of vitamin C serums in the market. You can also try The Body Shop & Yves Rocher products because they are all natural.🙂

    • Roll an ice cube in a towel then place it on the pimple for a few minutes. This will lessen the irritation. I like to use aloe vera gel for its calming effect too.

    • Hi, I dont know if guys also have hormonal acne. Pero kung malaki a.k.a cystic acne under the skin, ang pinakamadali sakin is magpa-pimple injection. Sa Flawless ako nagpapainject. Usually within 24 hours flat na yung pimple. Pero kapag malalaki talaga maximum 2 days. Consult a dermatologist.🙂

  24. Hi diana
    I have acne on my forehead and few left and right on my cheeks they are not very big spot yet but on my forehead yes ….they very red and big spot how can i treat it diana? This time i start use benzoyle peroxide and i use cetaphile for clean my face then after i put the benzoyle perixide u think is that fine to treat mine please if you have some sudgestion i would love to try that…i been suffering with this problem in 2 months now i never have like this before and it really makes my confidence very down..please can i have some of your help thanks Diana

    • When I get bumps on the forehead, it’s either stress or sleeping late. Cetaphil doesnt have anti-acne ingredients. Here’s my routine: makeup remover (if you wear makeup), facial wash, toner and moisturizer. Look for products with tea tree or salicylic acid. These ingredients help to calm and soothe the skin. Ito pa ibang tips:
      – sleep early
      – avoid alcoholic drinks, sweets, nuts, spicy, salty & oily foods, dairy products like milk and cheese
      – wash your face after mo magrinse ng shampoo para yung dumi ng buhok di mapunta sa skin
      – shampoo is one of the causes din, lalo na kung malapit sa hairline yung acne. Change your shampoo kapag ganon.
      – digest regularly🙂

  25. Saan po ba available ung panoxyl kc nagtanong tanong na po ako sa ibat ibang drug store kaso available lng po ung panoxyl na sabon.tpos ilang percent po ng panoxyl ang dapat gamitin

  26. hi.i try ung panoxyl cream4%. ok lang ba kung sabayan ko din ng whitening cream.? umaga ung whitening cream tapos gabi ung panoxyl? thanks

Leave a Reply

