Wearing Makeup Is Not A Crime

image

Okay these are my random thoughts. I’ve been reading articles and comments about makeup on facebook and other social media sites. I dont know why our society’s making it look bad. Makeup is not a bad thing. I wont force anyone to like it because we have different interests

No makeup = simple woman. That’s what our society is telling us. Some people think women who wear makeup are maarte. I used to think that way until I became open-minded. I’ve encountered some people who are “simple” but they are the opposite of what they look like when I got to know them but I accepted them for who they are. I dont want to change anyone. It’s a lame reason to judge a person’s attitude and way of living through appearance.

Be sure you know the person’s story first and stop judging. There are reasons why people wear makeup. Some gain their confidence through makeup. Some just want to express their creativity. Some do it as a hobby. Some do it for their living. Some just want to look good and feel better FOR THEMSELVES. Some just want to do it. Simple as that.

Sure, we just have to accept ourselves and our flaws but we are all different. We have different reactions to that. Some are completely fine about their flaw(s). Some are uncomfortable with them and you cant just tell them to accept it. If anyone can do something to improve his/her imperfections and s/he want to do it, let them do that.

You think a person’s fake because of that? Let me tell you there are other ways to show the real you. You can show it by your personality, attitude, the way you interact with people. You dont change your attitude towards a person when s/he is talking to you and you’re not talking behind his/her back. You accept your strengths and weaknesses, that’s the real definition of being true to yourself.

You don’t wear makeup and you feel confident about yourself? Good for you and Im glad you feel that way about yourself. But dont judge those who love makeup. Anyone can wear makeup and that doesnt mean s/he’s fake and ugly. Just let them live their lives. You have your own life to deal with. Judging them and everyone else wont make you a better person.

P.S. I’m just talking about “some” people. I’m not generalizing any group.

18 thoughts on “Wearing Makeup Is Not A Crime

  1. I agree! I personally don’t wear makeup because my skin seems to hate every ingredient under the sun, I wish I could though! One of my best friends wears it every day and it’s like an art for her. Some of the looks created using makeup is incredible and I love seeing what it can do.

    • Yay someone understands us.๐Ÿ™‚ Aw, I have sensitive skin too so I always control myself not to try out different foundations and stick to my all time favorites to avoid irritation. How about lip and eye makeup? Women’s creativity shows through makeup. I like to watch tutorials on Youtube but I dont do them. Haha. I’m just amazed on how they do it.๐Ÿ™‚

  2. True!

    I usually only wear makeup when there is a special occasion or when I want to pump myself.

    To each their own, there will always be styles we like and don’t like.

    If putting full makeup on makes you happy, then just be true to yourself.

  3. 100% agree with you. I wear makeup because it’s fun and I enjoy playing with it, and yes it does make me feel pretty but I also have my own kind of pretty without it and I’m just as confident not wearing it as I am wearing it. It doesn’t make me fake or insecure or gaudy. You could say the same mean things about people who dress nice, or who buy nice cars or who buy nice houses. You could also say that people who hate on all nice and pretty things are miserable trolls who have nothing better to do than to judge other people for how they choose to live their lives. To be honest though, before I got into the beauty community here on WP I actually had many problems building friendships with women. Since then, I have found so many women who are kind, genuine, funny, smart, unique and gorgeous inside and out (with or without makeup). So in a way, I understand how the haters can not understand… they have not experienced the wonderful people in the beauty community as we have๐Ÿ™‚

    • Whether we do good or bad, people will say something.

      Me too. My friends and classmates find it weird that I blog about beauty. I think I was the only blogger in our class. They already accepted what I’m doing and supported me. Luckily, there are some in our class who like makeup. We talk about it *aside from the lessons* :))

      Im glad you’ve overcome that problem and found empowering people. It’s fun in our community. I wish others knew that.๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Very well written. Doing or playing with makeup makes me feel so much better. Even if am at home and am feeling dull, wearing a simple bright lipstick with some base instantly makes me feel happier and fresh. Yes we should accept our flaws and should embrace how we are as everyone is beautiful in his/her own way. But wearing makeup doesn’t mean me we are trying to hide something or are faking it all. Its just a passion, its an art and we love doing it๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I really liked your article! I think you quite hit the mark… I study chemical engineering so there aren’t a lot of girls in my semester. I really love to wear makeup and wear dresses, just about everything girly! So at first a lot judged me for this and thought me superficial ( although mere judgment of me because I wear makeup is superficial itself, right?). I would never think less of anyone not wearing makeup ( my best friend doesn’t). Makeup isn’t only surface and mask it also shows what lies beneath and helps us express ourselves! It’s like a painting :D… I hope you share more of your interesting thoughts!

    • Awesome. It’s great that you do what you feel like doing. You werent hesistant to dress up or apply makeup simply because you want to even if there werent a lot of girls in your class. Glad you liked this post.๐Ÿ™‚

  6. aahh i wish every guy in the world can read what you wrote. i agree๐Ÿ™‚ esp the part that says we wear makeup for ourselves first. and later on if someone else appreciate it then good. cause ive met a few people (mostly men) who assume that girls wear makeup to attract mens attention. which maybe true for some girls or in some situations but def not true for everyone.

    • It’s true, some men assume that we do it for them. But the truth is we’re doing it for ourselves. Haha.๐Ÿ™‚ Oh btw, I followed you on Bloglovin.๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Awesome post! I too write about makeup, not because it does some miracle or something but it’s an art that helps us to experiment, explore and enhance our feautres:)
    All the very best to you for your future posts:)

    • Im glad you like it. It’s just amazing how people play with all the makeup colors. The results are stunning, indeed an art. It’s fun to write/type what we feel sometimes.๐Ÿ™‚

  8. You nailed it girl๐Ÿ™‚ here in our country, although I’m not saying that everyone does it, people judge by the way you dress or what you apply on your lips or face rather than knowing you personally. Some people are just not that “open-minded”. But whatever! No need to be ashamed. We do this because we love doing it and it makes us happy and it’s fun! I believe we are artists on our own ways.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

