Taking Birth Control Pills for Acne?

Okay, I went to get a second opinion from another dermatologist last month. She assessed my skin and I told her that I have hormonal acne. She recommended a birth control pill, Yaz. She said it doesnt have any side effect. I doubt, (acne) meds have side effects. I didnt buy immediately. I searched on the internet first. Im that kind of person who weighs advantages and disadvantages of everything that I do. I havent bought the pill until now.

I’ve seen lots of positive feedbacks on contraceptive pills to get rid of acne. I talked to a youtube user in the comments section of MyPaleSkin’s latest video. She said it was the only thing that cleared her acne. That’s the problem with hormonal acne. Im thinking the same way now for myself. Of course diet and health help to balance hormones but I still get those big angry bumps. What scared me is the possible side effect; blood clots and heart attack even healthy women are at risk. Her derma told her to do cardio regularly. I’ll probably do the same if I take it.

I’m taking Centrum right now. I can feel that it balances my hormones because I dont have menstrual cramps anymore. It doesnt prevent breakouts though. My immune system is weak since I was young and until now. I’m also working on my diet and health. No alcohol, softdrinks, less sugar, salt and dairy products. I still have my cheat day but it’s just one day and not too much. I’m still considering taking the said pills if Im completely healthy.

I want to hear your comments on this especially those who are currently taking the pills and those who are already done with it.πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “Taking Birth Control Pills for Acne?

    • Thanks. I will. This has been prescribed by doctors for hormonal acne for many years now. It has some issues though with the serious side effects so Im still in doubt if I should take it.πŸ™‚

  1. hi ms d. parehas tayo nagsesearch ng kung ano ano para lang maovercome na ang acne, tbh i never ever visited not even once a dermatologist regarding acne bec didnt like injections and chemical treaments on skin and feeling ko naman i got hormonal acne bec i still get cyctic pimples now im already in my 20s and paiba iba ng cycle ang period ko. i did consider na gumamit ng bcp kaso natatakot ako na baka tumaba naman ako. if you can remember nagcomment aq dati na susubukan q ang herbal supplements for acne. i actually did! im on consistent 3 weeks of taking

    moringa 2x a day
    turmeric 2x a day
    guyabano 2x a day
    actvated charcoal 2 tabs before bedtime

    they cost 200 each and each contains 100 tabs in 500mg.

    im loving the results! i noticed that i didnt get cystic pimples anymore maliliit nalang and di na ako tinutubuan sa may jawline. plus di na ako bloated and maayos na ang pagdumi ko. this is a win win for me! maybe you should consider the natural alternative.

    i bought mine from greenspark organic on fb https://m.facebook.com/GreenSpark.Organic. they also have other supplements teas and powder i think you should check them out!πŸ™‚

    • That’s great! Im glad you’ve found the regimen that works on your skin.πŸ˜€ Im getting tired of going to my derma’s clinic for pimple injection. I go there twice a month. Nakakainis kasi yung cystic acne minsan matagal mawala. Bago man mawala natatapat na sa time of the month ko so panibagong breakout nanaman. @__@

      Thanks for the tips. I’ll included this on my list.πŸ™‚

  2. Use of bcp esp. Yaz is a matter very close to my heart because it was the only thing amongst the ocean of oral medications available in the market, other than Accutane, that actually helped decrease my moderate but persistent acne. For the 1.5-2 years that I was on it, no matter what I ate, if I exercised at all, etc. my skin never broke out with more than one-two small spots in a month. I could eat a 100 almonds or pizzas and still not breakout. LOL! Ok, not really but you’ll perhaps understand how glorious it was to be finally spotless. Alas, all good things come to an end, and it did for me in r/o use of bcp. Weaning off Yaz can be quite an uphill task and you should definitely go to your dermat who can give you proper guidance on this. If you suddenly stop taking bcp after a really long time, like I did, you may just experience the mother of all breakouts. So, in short, bcp is an effective way to control hormonal acne, if taken under a good dermat/gynae’s supervision.

    • Oh I’d love to eat a lot of pizza and more cheese. Haha. But sadly I cant. The derma said I should take it for six months. Still thinking about it. Thanks for the tips!πŸ™‚

  3. The only thing that worked for me was Dianette. I tried Yasmin but it just didin’t agree with me. I have suffered from acne since I was 14 (im 30 now). I stopped taking dianette last year as its really dangerous to be on it for too long, my skin flared up so badly! These pills are unfortunately only a temporally solution. Take vitamins such as zinc and startflower oil as those help balance your hormones and works with your skin from inside out.
    I am back on dianette after a break but my skin is the worst its ever been, so its really all trial and error xx

    • Oh I didnt know it’s a temporary solution. I took zinc tablets too but switched to Centrum because it has zinc and more added vitamins. I still breakout if I miss just one day. Ugh having acne takes a lot of patience. @___@

  4. I’ve used BCPs for maybe 5 years now but as a contraceptive and to moderate my polycystic ovaries, so I can’t really attest to how they can control hormone-triggered acne. That said, they did keep my hormones in check, prevented menstrual cramps, and even though I’m off them now they seem to have had a lasting effect on regulating my cycle as well. I went through two pills (Mercilon and Yaz) before finding a match in Trust. It’s really a matter of finding the right pill combination for you, so do make sure to stay on the pill for at least two months to see if and how it works for you.

    If you experience menstrual cramps, you may also want to get checked by gynecologist. More than a derma, they should be better able to help you find a way to balance your hormones. Please always always check with a doctor before taking any supplements, even those that are supposedly organic. Organic does not necessarily mean safe or beneficial.

    • I take tablets with zinc and I dont have menstrual cramps anymore. I’ll take note of what you’ve said. I’ll observe the pills if I already have the courage to take them. Thanks for the tips. It helps a lot.πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Diana,

    I am currently on the Alesse pill, and have taken it for almost a year. I started taking it almost at the peak of the worst acne wave I have ever had in my life. It was hormonal acne, like yours, and I got acne only on my cheek area and chin, whereas I used to only get forehead acne as a pre-teen.

    Being on birth control not only helped heal my acne, It got rid of my horrible cramps altogether. I used to have cramps that were so bad that I had to leave work and go home to curl up in bed and sleep it off. It was only somewhat manageable with Midol.

    Now I have small periods, no cramping, no PMS, and i can even skip my period if I want to. My skin is pretty much clear now, and I barely get breakouts unless they are coming from the deep-set sebum stuff that developed when I had severe acne and is still trapped under my skin.

    Please try it it will change your life. I am on the absolute Lowest dose and I know Yaz is not the lowest dose out there.

    Good luck!

    Boki

    http://www.bokikwok.wordpress.com

    • I wont remove it on my list. A lot of acne sufferers’ lives have changed because of it. And that’s pretty tempting for me. I have moderate to severe acne that depends on my diet. Maybe that’s why she prescribed a stronger dose. @__@

  6. I took birth control for, well, their birth control effect but it really has good effects on the skin. I’ve never had acne, even before I started getting on the pill, but I broke out when I stopped using it.

    • Some do get breakouts after stopping and some dont. Most of the bloggers who commented on this post experienced breakouts. How long did you take them and did the breakout fade quickly? @___@

      • I took Diana actually. I used it for over a year. I stopped a couple of months ago and I’m still having breakouts, which sucks coz I’ve never had them before even as a teen.😦 So I think I’m going back to birth control pills. I’m not sure about Yazmin, though, but I heard some women have experienced side effects from taking them.

  7. I used to see traditional Chinese physicians to treat my cramps. They work wonders with regular exercising. I can’t take vitamin supplements coz I will get more outbreaks. Exercising helps you balance hormones and emotional health. Lots of fluids too. Not proponent for birth control pills – it’s temporary. I have a lot less acne now.

  8. HI! I’m currently taking YAZ for my hormonal acne as a symptom of having PCOS or cystic ovaries. Just 1 week of taking it, I can see a great difference. After a month, wala na akong acne just scars. Pero I went though a lot of lab exams before my gyne prescribed the pills. I hope this helps!πŸ™‚

    • hi, thanks for the tips. I’d like to ask what’s the name of your doctor and clinic? If you’re in Manila lang. I dont know any Gynecologist kasi. And what were the tests you’ve undergone?πŸ™‚

  9. Hey! I actually wrote about birth control and acne and the science behind itπŸ™‚ Yaz may help with acne because it’s anti-androgenic. I think there is definitely the potential for side affects though, like any medication. If you want to read more about what I wrote here it isπŸ™‚

    https://oliveaolive.wordpress.com/2015/07/05/the-pill-and-acne/

    Personally, I’ve had great success with the one I’m on. But of course everybody reacts differently.

  10. I have been taking BCPs. They do work for me and there are different kinds. One made me gain weight and I told this to my doctor and she prescribed me another one. Just depends on what suits you. And it has cleared up a lot for me.

  11. I have the same problem ;w; My dermatologist gave me 3 creams but there is practically no change. He told me that if I really wanted changes I could consult a gynecologist who would prescribe me birth control pills. So… I think I am going to talk to a gynecologist ! (but I don’t really understand th risk of taking those pills..)

    • There are serious side effects like blood clot and heart attack. I’ve read even healthy women are at risk. It can probably be prevented with regular cardio exercises just like what the dermatologist recommended to the girl I talked to plus a very healthy lifestyle. I’ll probably take the pills too once Im healthy because I really think it’s the only hope for my hormonal acne. @___@

  12. Great post. Short and sweet. All birth control pills come with side effects. There is not one that doesnt. Sometimes we just have to make that initial decision, and then weigh the pros and cons. I actually took Yaz many years ago, and it made me feel super sick, not to mention started to affect my teeth/gum health! it was so strange, but once I got off the pill everything went back to normal. I never touched it again. Nonetheless, what doesnt work for one, may still work for another. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

