Review: The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%

4 Jun

I was introduced to this brand a few months ago. Thanks to youtubers especially to Wayne Goss. I visited Deciem’s website and viewed their products. I carefully chose the products that I think would work best for me. One of those is Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%.

image

Description:
Niacinamide (Vitamin B3) is indicated to reduce the appearance of skin blemishes and congestion. A high 10% concentration of this vitamin is supported in the formula by zinc salt of pyrrolidone carboxylic acid to balance visible aspects of sebum activity.

Contraindications: If topical Vitamin C is used as part of skincare, it should be applied at alternate times with this formula (ideally Vitamin C in the PM and this formula in the AM). Otherwise, Niacinamide can affect integrity of pure-form Vitamin C (L-Ascorbic Acid).

Directions:
Apply to entire face morning and evening before heavier creams.

Ingredients:
Aqua (Water), Niacinamide, Pentylene Glycol, Zinc PCA, Tamarindus Indica Seed Gum, Xanthan Gum, Isoceteth-20, Ethoxydiglycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.

Pros:
– Simple frosted glass packaging
– Straight to the point product name
– Affordable
– Oil free, silicone free, paraben free
– Watery serum
– No sticky residue
– Feels light on the skin
– Did not trigger contact dermatitis
– Did not cause breakouts
– Tightening effect
– Brightens skin tone
– Somehow healed new breakouts from my period

Cons:
– Skin looks shiny after application
– Little or no improvement on dark spots

Let’s discuss the cons first. I cant tell if it made improvements on my dark spots. Maybe it’s because mine are deep into dermis layer. I know it’s oil free but it makes my skin look shiny after application. Like it’s really polished and edited. I know that’s a good thing but I wasnt ready for that. Haha! It’s unreal. I look like the handsome Squidward below.

I’m liking their packaging and straight to the point product names. I already know its purpose and what are its actives. It’s intimidating for people who are new into skin care. But trust me, we don’t need cheesy names like “Bouncy Skin Moisturizing Cream”. Sorry I just made that name. I’m cringing but I hope you got my point. Haha!

image

The serum is watery and it feels light on the skin. It doesn’t leave any sticky residue. Castor oil has a chance of blocking pores and a lot of moisturizers have it. Thank goodness this one is oil free! That’s actually the main reason why I bought this. It helps to heal breakouts from monthly period. I’m glad it didnt trigger my contact dermatitis. So it’s safe to say that it can be used on sensitive skin. My face is brighter and looks alive. I’ve also experienced tightening effect especially on the forehead area. It’s like botox. Overall, this is a great moisturizer for oily skin. It’s very affordable and high quality. I’d repurchase this again.☺

4 Responses to “Review: The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%”

  1. Luchessa June 4, 2017 at 10:34 am #

    Hey Diana,
    thanks for the review. I think I’ve started seeing this brand a few months back on Istagram and so many bloggers seem to really like their products, especially Retinol products.
    So I guess I might give the brand a go. Thanks for reminding me of it.
    xo

    • SuperDiana June 6, 2017 at 3:56 am #

      Retinoid 2% is one of their bestsellers and I’m planning to get it too. Hope you can give this brand a try. I look forward to reading your reviews.☺

  2. ensignraquiñones June 5, 2017 at 1:05 am #

    Thanks for reviewing this. I heard a lot about this product

  3. Jasnah June 30, 2017 at 2:43 am #

    I’m thinking of getting this. Have you tried one of their oils? It’s a little expensive when bought from local sellers in our country. – Lady Arizel XD

Leave a Reply

