Review: Human Nature Sunflower Beauty Oil

Review: Human Nature Sunflower Beauty Oil

I’m back on exploring local brands again. Recently, I had a bad flare up of rashes again so I needed to “protect” those areas. We bought Human Nature’s bestseller last month. I was hoping it could at least lessen the redness and itching caused by rashes. It’s my first sunflower oil so I won’t be able to compare it with other brands.

IMG_20181107_140559.jpg

Description:
A cult beauty classic rich with moisturizing and nourishing vitamins A, D & E this holy grail oil has earned its place as a well-known and well-loved miracle worker.

Ingredients:
Premium cosmetic-grade sunflower seed oil

Pros:
– Very affordable, 50ml for 199 pesos at Sesou branches
– Can be used as makeup remover
– Can be used as moisturizer
– Gives glow
– Quickly absorbed
– Helps to heal blemishes
– Reduced my itching
– Did not cause breakouts

Cons:
– Pump bottle is not travel friendly
– Clogs my sink

Neutral:
– Might be too heavy for the skin depending on the weather and your activities

I tried using this to remove my makeup first. It really did melt all my heavy makeup. After cleansing, I used it as moisturizer for flaky areas. It smoothened those areas. I like that it gives a subtle glow too! I can definitely see it even under my makeup. I also noticed that my blemishes dry and heal quicker than usual. It did not cause breakouts even on my oily t-zone. While there was no improvement on redness, it did reduce the itch and provided comfort while I had rashes caused by dermatitis.

It’s quickly absorbed if you press it down lightly with your palms or by gently sweeping on the skin. If you’re in a hurry, just dab at tissue and proceed to your makeup routine. Your tissue paper should be organic or at least unbleached if you have hypersensitive skin like me.  Just putting it out there.

IMG_20181107_171818.png

The only down side is the packaging. It’s not travel friendly. From my past experience with other products, oils are easily spilled out from a pump bottle. Spillage will be avoided if oils are in amber glass bottles with droppers. Aside from that, frequent use of this clogged my sink a little bit. But it can be solved by pouring hot water in the sink. It’s a factor for me because I’m lazy to do it all the time. đŸ˜›

IMG_20181107_173358

I’m neutral about its heaviness. In my opinion it’s ideal as night treatment since we’re living in a country that’s hot and humid (& messed up. lol). But you can also use this during the day if you’re just in an air-conditioned place. Your activities like commuting and exercising should also be factors on your skin care decision-making.

Overall, using this turned out pretty well although it’s not a cure-all for dermatitis. Dermatitis is also linked in the body’s health so don’t just rely on topical treatments. The only thing that I want was to reduce the itch and it delivered. It’s multifunctional and one of the most affordable oils out there. I was a bit hesitant because sunflower oil has high comedogenic rating, meaning it has a high chance of blocking pores. Each skin is unique so trying out products is always a trial and error.

Leave a comment