Review: Dove Sensitive Beauty Bar

Review: Dove Sensitive Beauty Bar

I was browsing BeautyMNL’s website to find cleansers suitable for sensitive skin. You know that fragrance should be avoided if you have sensitive skin. I’ve read reviews on this Dove variant. Some use it on the face, body and some even use it down there. Their dermatologists recommend this because of its fragrance-free formula. My doctors recommended Cetaphil and Physiogel which did not work for me. I had to look for another cleanser. It’s less than 50 pesos. It wouldn’t hurt to try, right? I’m using this for almost 3 weeks now and I’m ready to share my experience.

dove

Description from Dove’s website:
This sensitive skin bar brings you the classic Dove cleansers and ¼ moisturising cream in a fragrance-free, hypoallergenic bar that’s gentle enough for sensitive skin. Suitable for daily use, it helps protect skin’s natural moisture and can be used on your hands, body or face. Get the gentle skin care for sensitive skin that you deserve – try Dove Sensitive Beauty Bar.

Ingredients:
Sodium Lauroyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, Sodium Palmitate, Aqua, Lauric Acid, Sodium Isethionate, Sodium Stearate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Palm Kernelate, Glycerin, Sodium Chloride, Zinc Oxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, Tetrasodium Etidronate, Alumina, CI 77891

Here’s CosDNA Analysis (link here):cosdna

Pros:
– Affordable, 47.75 pesos only at Mercury Drugs
– Accessible
– Fragrance-free
– Gives enough lather
– Doesn’t leave a slimy film
– Easy to rinse
– Multifunctional
– Glowing skin every after use
– Did not cause breakouts
– Did not trigger my contact dermatitis

Cons:
– Has that waxy feeling
– Not really for heavy cleansing

Neutral:
– Doesn’t prevent breakouts

I’m using this alternately with Althea x Get It Beauty Masks. I really do not like the original Dove because it leaves a film but this sensitive variant doesn’t. I rinse it off with water for 10 seconds. I just don’t like that it gives waxy feeling which has been an issue for me with their bars. But despite that and me having oily skin, I did not experience breakouts. This isn’t intended for heavy cleansing. This won’t remove makeup and won’t prevent breakouts. My main concerns right now are moisture and avoiding contact dermatitis. I prefer to use other cleansers after working out. Make sure your cleanser matches with your activities. I use this when my skin’s irritated and/or I had a day without intense sweating, commuting or cleaning the house.

This is very accessible. Most of the supermarkets, department stores and drugstores have it. Eliminating fragrance whether natural or artificial can really make a difference for sensitive skin. This has the same lather as their other bars. As I said above, it’s multifunctional. You can use it for face, body, “down there” and for moisturizing purposes. I also noticed that my skin’s glowing from the inside when I’m using this. Similar to “glass skin”. Best of all, it did not cause allergic reactions.

It seems like Dove’s releasing new products. Have you tried anything from them lately? By the way, I’ll make a list of cleansers for sensitive skin. Please watch out for that!

2 thoughts on “Review: Dove Sensitive Beauty Bar

  1. Loving your blog, the information you give is very helpful to me as I too have oily hypersensitive skin. I look forward to reading your future posts. Keep up the good work 😊

Leave a comment